Friday, January 21, 2011

Can't Wait!

Halloween is a bad time to return to the woods…
Madeline MacFadden (“Mad Mac” to fans of her bestselling magical stories) spent blissful childhood summers in Ticonderoga Falls. And this is where she wants to be now that her adult life is falling apart. The dense surrounding forest holds many memories, some joyous, some tantalizingly only half-remembered. And she’s always believed there was something living in these wooded hills.

But Maddie doesn’t remember the dark parts—and knows nothing of the mountain legend that holds the area’s terrified residents captive. She has no recollection of Ash, the strange and magnificent creature who once saved her life as a child, even though it is the destiny of his kind to prey upon humanity. And soon it will be the Harvest…the time to feast.

Once again Maddie’s dreams—and her soul—are in grave danger. But magic runs deep during Harvest. Even a spinner of enchanted tales has wondrous powers of her own…

The back copy synopsis had me at "Halloween."  The rest sounds pretty intriguing too.  Secrets and legends and magic, oh my!

Destefano's first book, Afterlife, was one of my favorites of 2010 and I actually gave it an extra star I loved it so much.  So, I'm really looking forward to seeing what Merrie does in her next book.

I love the cover of Feast.  Both book covers have a similar feel.  The  female main character is depicted, both have that eerie blue night time background and the same font gives a nice consistency that will differentiate Destefano's books on the shelves.

Feast comes out 6/28/11.

Read my review of Afterlife here.
Check out Merrie Destefano's site here.


Unknown said...

This looks like a cool read! though Im not a big fan of the cover and I prefer series to standalone novels hehe

Midnyte Reader said...

I like the background of the Afterlife a little better (I guess because it's a NOLA cemetery), but I like the girl on Feast a little better.

I think it depends how well written a series is...sometimes I just wish the book would stop after the 1st one, but I know the industry now likes a series or at least a trilogy.

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...